About the history of the Church of All Nations
he church's original name is the Church of Agony, but since it was established with the help of donations from Franciscan communities worldwide, it is called the "Church of All Nations", or the "Church of All Peoples"/
You can admire eight ancient and impressive olive trees surrounded by a fence in the churchyard. At the front of the church, above the main entrance, is a shining golden mosaic depicting Jesus with two groups of people on either side of him - symbolizing Jesus as the link between the people and God.
The Franciscan Church of All Nations is a large church with a gloomy atmosphere that simulates the atmosphere surrounding Jesus the night before the crucifixion, with a low ceiling and 12 domes, where Jesus prayed his last prayer before Judas Iscariot handed him over to the Romans. The church was built by the architect Antonio Berlozzi. Its construction was completed in 1924 with the help of donations collected from the Catholic world and hence its name.
Above the mosaic is a cross, and on its sides, two stags standing on a globe symbolizing the world. Under the mosaic and on the sides of the arches at the entrance are four statues representing the four writers of the Gospels: Matthew, Luke, Mark, and John. In the center of the church is a "sorrow rock" on which, according to tradition, Jesus prayed his last prayer and wept, surrounded by an iron crown of thorns with olive branches.
The mosaic above the rock depicts Christ suffering as he ascends the altar. On the ceiling and the eastern wall are the symbols of the 16 countries that contributed to the church's establishment. The church is located where in the 5th century was a small Byzantine basilica destroyed. Only remnants of it were preserved, such as the parts of the mosaic floor visible under the floor and covered with glass. In the mosaics, Jesus is depicted moments before he was captured and after his surrender. The left mosaic depicts Judas' kiss of betrayal, with which the Romans identified Jesus and arrested him. The right mosaic depicts the identification of Christ before those who arrested him. In the 12th century, a large Crusader church was built there, which was destroyed and abandoned, probably in 1347.