Khan Al Sultan is an ancient Khan in which merchants, pilgrims and passers-by used to stay. It is estimated that the Khan was constructed by the 14th century Mameluke Sultan Barquq, probably in 1386/7.
The entrance into the unroofed courtyard is via an entrance hall with porches attached to the surrounding building, supported by decorated supporters. At the edge of the entrance hall from the left there is a staircase leading to the roof. One may ascend the staircase to take a look at the view. The courtyard is currently a bit neglected, but in the past the royal Khan knew better days and was considered glamorous.
The Khan enjoyed considerable economic success, and its revenues from hosting merchants were dedicated to the maintenance of El Aqsa Mosque. The courtyard itself is characteristic of Medieval Jerusalem, an open unroofed courtyard surrounded by rooms. In the past it was custom to put the animals in the first floor, where the merchandise was kept, and the guests stayed in the 2nd floor of the Khan.
Sultan Barquq was the first Mameluke Sultan of Circassian origins, and he invested a lot into the development of Jerusalem. Among his works was the renovation of the water pool outside of the wall, which is named after him to this day: “the Sultan’s Pool”.