home
/
attraction
/
Chabad's Tzemach Tzedek Synagogue

Chabad's Tzemach Tzedek Synagogue

google logo
4.4
based on 119 traveler reviews

The Tzemach Tzedek Synagogue was purchased with the aid of David Sassoon of Bombay in 1858 CE, and a second story was added with another synagogue and a yeshiva in 1879 CE. The additional institutions were named Knesset Eliyahu after Elias Sassoon of Bombay.

The building has never been destroyed although it stood in the heart of the heaviest fighting in the Jewish Quarter during the War of Independence. The late Rabbi Moshe Segal, a Chabad hassid, entered the building shortly after the capture of the city in the six-day war and slept there the first night to personally guard the building.

He lived alone in the Jewish Quarter for almost a year until his wife agreed to join him. During the British Mandate, he blew the Shofar at great risk at the Western Wall to mark the end of Yom-Kippur in defiance of mandate regulations.

google logo

google reviews

4.4
based on 119 traveler reviews
  • Joanne Lee
    Joanne Lee
    March 16, 2019

    Fantastic remnants of Byzantine period

  • Shneur
    Shneur
    October 24, 2016

    Shul Is upstairs. Has a small shop. Shul to daven and learn.

  • Eric Schudy
    Eric Schudy
    June 2, 2019

    Donate. they take care of people

  • Jefté Villar
    Jefté Villar
    November 27, 2018

    Wonderful place and very kind people.

  • nachum rosenberger
    nachum rosenberger
    August 21, 2018

    Nice shul

more info
  • address iconחב"ד 31, Jerusalem
  • Go to website of google map
  • Go to website ofwebsitearrow
more info